The Ruins of
boundary of Malá Haná (Little Haná) and Drahanská vrchovina (Drahanská
Highlands) up on the hill of 460 meters above sea level rises a romantic ruin of
Gothic-Renaissance Boskovice castle. History of the castle dates back to the mid
13th century. At that time the castle was owned by the house of the Lords of
Boskovice, possessing both castle and manor till the end of the 14th century. At
the end of the 14th century Lords of Kunštát hold the castle. Later on, the
house of Dietrichstein hold the possession of Boskovice castle.
castle was left off at the beginning of the 18th century. In 1830´s the roofs
were torn down and the masonry was used as building material for buildings in
present time the castle is owned by the family of Mensdorff - Pouilly. Only
remains of then huge castle palace have been preserved till today, offering
magnificent view over local picturesque country. Technical point of interest is
26 meters deep well with treadle wheel, the only one functional in the Czech
Republic. The castle is open for public.